Likes' Black Belt Academy LLC
4308 Stewart Ave. Wausau, WI

Belt Progress

Belt Ranking System

Students start the Martial Arts as a White belt, G-10 (novice). The belt ranking system then goes to Yellow, Green, Blue, Brown, Hi-Brown, and then 1st Degree Black Belt. There are Nine degrees of Black Belt. Although reaching the rank of Black Belt is quite an accomplishment, it is only the beginning. Up through Brown belt a student is only practicing, and only when they receive their 1st Degree Black Belt do they start learning the art of TaeKwon-Do.

Belt Promotion Test

For each new belt a student tests for, there are new kicks, blocks, one-steps, self-defense moves, forms, etc and a certain amount of classes that are required learning. You can progress though the Karate belt color ranks at a rate that you determine. The color of your belt will reflect your level of experience and proficiency. Each student from 1st through 12th grades must maintain at least a "C" grade average to be able to test, and are helped with setting goals to raise their grades. Black Belts are expected to maintain an "A" grade average.

Student Oath

  • I shall observe the tenets of TaeKwon-Do.

  • I shall respect the instructors and seniors.

  • I shall never misuse TaeKwon-Do.

  • I shall be a champion of freedom and justice.

  • I shall help build a more peaceful world.


Courtesy: Being polite, respectful, treating other people like you want to be treated.

Integrity: Knowing right from wrong. Not lying and cheating.

Perseverance: Never ever, ever give up.

Self-Control: Never having to say you're sorry.

Indomitable Spirit: Not easily discouraged.